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Qualifications To Register To Vote 






 





	
 - be a U.S. citizen; 

	
 - be 18 years old by December 31 of the year in which you file this form (note: you must be 18 years old by the date of
the general, primary or other election in which you want to vote) 

	
 - live at your present address at least 30 days before an election; 

	
 - not be in jail or on parole for a felony conviction and; 

	
 - not claim the right to vote elsewhere 






 





  




 






Register to Vote 






- You can register in person at your county board of elections or at any New York State Agency-Based voter registration
center. 






- You can enter your name directly into the State Board of Elections mailing list database. 






- You can call 1-800-FOR-VOTE hotline to request a voter application. 






- You can download a PDF version [Adobe Reader®]of the New York Voter Registration Form.  Once the form is
completed, you need to print the form, sign it, then mail it to your county board of elections. 
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Voting by Absentee Ballot in New York State





You May Vote by Absentee Ballot If you Will Be: 






 






- Unavoidably absent from your county on Election Day; 






- Unable to appear at the polls due to illness or disability; 






- A patient in a Veterans' Administration Hospital; or 






- Detained in jail awaiting Grand Jury action or confined in prison after conviction for an offense other than a felony. 






 












How To Vote By Absentee Ballot






 






Applications for Absentee Ballots are available at your county board of elections.  You may also download a PDF version
[Adobe Reader®] of the New York State Absentee Ballot application form here.  
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Upon completion applications must be mailed to your county board no later than the seventh day before the election or
delivered in person no later than the day before the election. 






 






You may also request an Absentee Ballot by sending a letter to your county board of elections. The letter must be
received by your county board no earlier than 30 days and no later than seven days before the election. The letter must
contain the following information. 






 






§          The address where you are registered; 






§          An address where the ballot is to be sent ; 






§          The reason for the request; and 






§          The signature of the voter. 






 






 






An application form will be mailed with your ballot. The application form must be completed and returned with your ballot. 
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If you cannot pick up your ballot, or will not be able to receive it through the mail, you have the right to designate
someone to pick it up for you. Only that person designated on your application may pick up and deliver your ballot. 






 






If you are permanently ill or disabled, you have the right to receive an Absentee Ballot for each subsequent election
without further application. Simply file an application with your board of elections containing a statement which describes
the particulars of your illness or disability. The Board will review the facts stated, and if satisfied, will mark your
registration record. You will then automatically receive an absentee ballot for every election until your registration is
canceled 
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